Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

The NRC Publications Archive is now operational; however, not all the features of the site are available at this time.

The following features remain unavailable:

  • Viewing/Downloading of full text publications

NRC is currently working to restore these features and we will update this notice as these features become available. Thank you for your patience.


Enquiries

Phone: 613-998-8544
Toll-free: 1-800-668-1222
Email: PublicationsArchive-ArchivesPublications@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca


NRC's Senior Executive Committee (SEC) approved funding in March 2008 to create an NRC Publications Archive that will be managed by NRC-CISTI. This searchable Web-based archive will provide open and seamless access to NRC's record of science and demonstrate the many ways NRC researchers translate science and technology into value for Canada.

NRC Publications Archive will build on both the work of an earlier pilot project and the work invested by several NRC institutes in creating excellent publication databases. It will offer a single comprehensive gateway to an institutional repository of all NRC-authored publications, including wherever possible, an electronic copy of the full text.

As part of this initiative, the SEC has established a policy making it mandatory, starting in January 2009, for NRC institutes to deposit copies of all peer-reviewed publications (articles, proceedings, books, book chapters) and technical reports in NRC Publications Archive. To encourage all publishers of NRC-authored research publications to permit deposits of these publications in NRC Publications Archive, the SEC has also approved an update to NRC Form 22 Licence to Publish (Crown Copyright) that will explicitly state NRC's intention to deposit the publication in NRC Publications Archive.

Although the initial focus is on the above-noted publications, NRC Publications Archive will ultimately accommodate a wide range of other publication and file types that I/B/Ps determine are essential to disseminating their research and strategic activities.

Creation of this open and comprehensive research repository demonstrates NRC's leadership amongst federal science-based departments and agencies, as well as its commitment to "undertaking, assisting or promoting scientific and industrial research in different fields of importance to Canada."

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

L’accès au site du service d’Archives des publications du CNRC a été rétabli. Notez toutefois que certaines fonctionnalités du site demeurent indisponibles pour l’instant, notamment les suivantes :

  • L’affichage et le téléchargement de la version intégrale des publications

Nous nous affairons à rétablir l’accès à ces fonctionnalités et vous aviserons de tout progrès dans ce dossier. Merci de votre patience.


Renseignements

Téléphone : 613-998-8544
Sans frais : 1-800-668-1222
Courriel : PublicationsArchive-ArchivesPublications@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca


En mars 2008, le Comité de la haute direction (CHD) du CNRC a approuvé le financement de la création des Archives des publications du CNRC, dont la gestion relèvera de l'ICIST-CNRC. Ces archives Web interrogeables fourniront un accès ouvert et continu aux documents scientifiques du CNRC, et montreront les nombreuses façons dont les chercheurs du CNRC mettent la science et la technologie au service des Canadiennes et des Canadiens.

Les Archives des publications du CNRC mettront à profit tant les réalisations d'un projet pilote antérieur que celles de plusieurs instituts du CNRC, qui ont créé d'excellentes bases de données. Elles offriront une passerelle unique et complète vers un dépôt institutionnel de l'ensemble des publications du CNRC, y compris, dans la mesure du possible, une version électronique en texte intégral.

Dans le cadre de cette initiative, le CHD a établi une politique qui, dès janvier 2009, obligera les instituts du CNRC à déposer dans les Archives des publications du CNRC un exemplaire de toutes les publications évaluées par des pairs (articles, comptes rendus de conférences, livres, chapitres de livres) et les rapports techniques. En outre, pour encourager tous les éditeurs qui publient les recherches d'auteurs du CNRC à autoriser le dépôt de ces publications dans les Archives des publications du CNRC, le CHD a aussi autorisé la mise à jour du formulaire 22 du CNRC, Autorisation de publier (Droit d'auteur de la Couronne), qui énoncera explicitement l'intention du CNRC de déposer les publications dans les Archives des publications du CNRC.

Bien que l'accent soit d'abord mis sur les publications susmentionnées, les Archives des publications du CNRC permettront par la suite d'archiver un large éventail d'autres publications et divers types de fichiers que les instituts, directions et programmes jugent essentiels à la diffusion de leurs recherches et de leurs activités stratégiques.

La création de ce dépôt ouvert et exhaustif montre le leadership du CNRC parmi les ministères et organismes gouvernementaux à vocation scientifique, ainsi que sa détermination à « entreprendre, favoriser et promouvoir les recherches scientifiques et industrielles dans différents domaines d'importance pour le Canada ».